Body Detox: 7 days challenge (Juice Fasting)!

Hi Friends,

I mentioned a lifestyle change that I have been going through, in my earlier post & that’s exactly I’m gonna talk about it today.

I can’t say that my diet was good with irregular intervals of food intake (mostly not having any meal on time), only 5-10% of fruits & vegetables, carbonated drinks, eating out (weekly 2-3 days), very less water consumption.

I knew my skin, my hair, my whole body needed a change & much needed break from this unhealthy routine. Being a very impulsive person, my decisions are never pre-planned, so on 10th of July I decided to make a change in my whole lifestyle.

The first thing I wanted to do was to bring a remarkable change in my food habits & secondly waking up as early as possible in the morning to spend at least good 30 minutes just for myself.

I also knew that this was not going to be easy but being a strong headed girl, I was all set to take up this challenge for a better me. This time it wasn’t about weight loss but a healthy life that I too deserve like everyone else.

image

I hate this word- ‘Dieting’. So that was no where in my agenda. I decided to live a week without oil, salt, sugar & cereals. No starving but surviving just on fruits & vegetable juices. (This is also called as Juice Fasting) I became like this R&D Ninja πŸ˜€ Soon I came across this process of detoxing called JUICING!

What is juicing?

JuiceΒ isΒ juicedΒ with aΒ juicer. Juicers ‘juice’ your fruits & veggies, separate the pulp (the insoluble fiber) from it. You discard the pulp and drink the juice.Β 
No it’s not like juicing deprives you of your fibre intake because with juice you still get fiber in the form of soluble fiber.Β Even if your juice gave you 0 grams of fiber, it would still be very healthy for you.

Is juice the same thing as a smoothie?

No, these are two very different things. 

A smoothie is made in a blender. It’s blended, not juiced. With a smoothie, you retain the pulp (which isΒ insolubleΒ fiber). A blended drink yields a lot more because of the pulp, and some people like that, but others find it difficult to drink all of it. Juice on the other hand is more like water consistency hence can be consumed easily. 

How juicing is beneficial to health?

1) Juicing has many life-enhancing health benefits including a faster, more efficient way to absorb immune boosting nutrients naturally found in fruits and vegetables.Β 

2) It provides a way to access digestive enzymes typically locked away in the fiber matrix of whole fruits and vegetables.Β 

3) No matter what the commercial juices claim, they’re processed & lack in nutrition while freshly juiced fruits and vegetables are loaded with an abundance of vitamins, minerals and phytonutrients.

4) For someone like me who do not traditionally consume many fruits and vegetables, incorporating fresh juice can be a healthy approach to increasing consumption of these important plant foods for improved health and wellness.

5) By removing the fibers and consuming fruits and vegetables in liquid form, we are providing a nutrient delivery system to our bodies that allows individuals who would otherwise have difficulty consuming whole vegetables, the opportunity to reap the numerous benefits vegetables have to offer.

What challenges I faced & how much juice I consumed?

The first two days were the most difficult! I just could not sink in the fact that I’m going to live without my favourite Indian cuisine. The idea of not going out in my favourite restaurants was also killing me. I still remember how I broke down on the second day. But I didn’t allow my inner strength to even shake a bit. I was just concentrating on the new me after a week. This helped me lot! The third day was easy. I kinda got a hang of this whole thing.

I actually didn’t disclose this meal plan to anyone around me because I was sure people gonna say that it’s crazy or this may not work or blah blah.. I just wanted to give a try.

I used to consume 3-4 litres of juices each day. Also few litres of water.

How I felt on the 7th day (i.e. on 16th July)?

Believe it or not this whole process made me much stronger. Even during these seven days I never felt starved but felt really full in a much healthier way like never before. Trust me guys, I could feel the difference in my skin, hair the very third day itself.
I also used to monitor my body weight each day. I lost around 3 Kgs/6 pounds at the end of it! I won’t lie, but this really made me super happy. πŸ˜‰

I was feeling more energetic to wakeup early for my regular workouts.

Is this a necessary process to detox?

No. Juice fasting isn’t necessary at all. What I did was a drastic change. Even if you can add one or two glasses of fresh juices in your daily diet without cutting down on anything, I can guarantee you that you’ll surely notice a difference in you.

Yesterday I broke my fasting & I’m back to my normal food routine. But I didn’t forget to consume juices. It’s like now a part of my routine & my taste buds are truly enjoying it. I so wanna go again for it.

Before you decide to implement any of these additions or lifestyle changes, please make sure you consultant your doctor first to avoid any medical complications.

I don’t want to prolong this post more, so stay tuned for some exclusive juice recepies with fruits and vegetables which are easily available, for the body detox, weight loss & for a healthy skin in my future posts. I’ll try my best to share my priceless experience with you all.

Anything is possible if you decide to never let down yourself!

Till next time stay happy and fab!

-Shweta β™₯

32 comments

  1. Wow you have some control!!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Even I realised that lately! πŸ™‚ thanks for reading πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure…..:)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. good post reflecting the benefits of fruits and vegetables juices… drinking juice keeps you physically as well mentally fit… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! Without a doubt πŸ™‚ thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I gotta try this!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do it dear & lemme know how you felt.. Good luck! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you!-)

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow!! You are really strong mentally to go for this juice challenge! Really happy for you that your overall body has benefited along with the loss of 3kg!! I’m impressed!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Shamira you’re so encouraging!! πŸ™‚ It was way too difficult than I thought! But yes seeing the benefits, it was worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. πŸ˜‰ Yes as they say there is always pleasure after pain..in this case the pain was sticking to a consistent routine for a week πŸ˜œπŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

      2. ☺ yes! πŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

  5. So glad to learn that you’ve decided to work on adopting a healthy lifestyle instead of dieting or focusing solely on your weight.
    Loved the way you’ve introduced the whole idea behind juice fasting.
    More power to you girl πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tysm Era 😘 your comment means lot to me:) that’s the whole idea behind this: a complete lifestyle change, for a better life!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. That looks like a delicious and nutritious way to detox. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah Somali it indeed is:) ty for reading! xo

      Like

  7. I have nominated you for Versatile Blogger award… check here.. https://ashishvision.wordpress.com/2015/07/19/versatile-blogger-award/ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lemme check your post right away πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. OMG! Whaat!? Say What? U did it, the Shweta I know is a foodie! πŸ˜› Btw hats off to u babe for trying this out and penned down all the benefits of it! Super happy to see that u did it!! *Yaayieks* So proud of u Gal! Love you! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ˜€ tysm Divs :* Yes I’m a foodie by heart.. But I knew from within that to needed to detox! Thanks for reading & stay Amazing gal! 😘 😘 😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes Yes, we all need that de-tox! 😘😘

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I should try some ! Great post πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. He he gud luck with that themisshweta

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks James:)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks James for the reblog πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  11. betternotbroken · · Reply

    This is promising and inspirational, I have been hesitant AKA scared to endeavor this. Good for you! I hope you are happy, healthy and cleansed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I feel something inside me has changed for better. Also strangely this has also worked as a stress buster for me! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚ Keep visiting πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. betternotbroken · ·

        You are welcome, thanks for the motivating post!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Love your determination Shweta πŸ™‚ I’m wondering why this dint come up on my reader, I’m not liking the new WordPress layout😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tysm Freda πŸ™‚ well the WordPress app is acting weird now, I dunno whether it’s the update or something πŸ˜” Anyways keep visiting :*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah !! Sure πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

