Soulful Sunday Edition|Donate hair for cancer patients|How to donate hair|How I donated my hair! 

Hello all 🙂 

Hope you are enjoying your Sunday. I’m back with a special edition of the Soulful Sunday.

Just a week back I posted this pic on my Instagram & Twitter account, the reaction that I received was truly overwhelming! 


This post was not at all on my to-do-list but those comments and so many questions on DM made me to publish this very post on “How I donated my hair?” 

Let me share some of the comments that I received – 

Whether I donated my hair in a temple?

Did I cut my hair in the hospital?

Did I go to a holy place like Tirupathi to chop hair?

Do they need to go bald in order to donate hair?

How am I sure that my hair will go for the wigs for cancer patients and not be misused?

This made me realise that the awareness about hair donation isn’t there much as it should be.

Growing curls really long till the waist length isn’t an easy task. The struggle is real. I’m sure every curly hair girl will agree to this! It took me an year and a half to do so. I was totally addicted to taking care of my long tresses. One fine day I came across my favourite Youtuber Sherry Shroff’s video on hair donation. I googled more on the same topic and found how it can help someone who is terminally ill with cancer or other patients suffering from hair loss. 

Here we are sitting comfortably in our homes completely healthy and doing great in our lives but there are many who are going through painful chemotherapy and what not! Giving doesn’t always have to be about money. Gifting a wig is such a selfless act that it can actually lift up someone’s confidence at the most difficult times of their lives & guys it’s just hair, It will grow back. You can definitely grow them back. 

There are many salons that gives you huge discounts when they get to know about this purpose. I decided to cut my hair with my regular stylist at Lakmé Salon. Sadly Lakmé doesn’t give any discount on the same. 


Once you make up your mind, do some homework on how to research a charity. Selecting which organization will receive your donation is a personal choice. Read about them to decide what best fits you. This is a great chance to make sure your donations are going to an organisation that you can support. 

The instructions are clearly mentioned on the websites of the organisation you choose. Read them carefully even before you step into the Salon. If you don’t adhere to the organisation’s rules, they won’t accept your donation. 

The wigs are given free only to economically weak patients. You cannot even imagine how it affects  ones persona.

So this is my lil story of the best thing I ever did! I hope to get inspired & inspire more …..also hope this cycle of selfless deeds never stop.


Now I have a neck length hair & I’m enjoying my short hair look every single day 🙂 it’s so different & mess free, with lil maintenance I’m good to go! 

 Also a BIG thanks and bear hug to all those who supported & encouraged me with their kind words. You guys have no idea how precious are these words to me.

Leaving you guys today with this inspiring video on YouTube that inspired me big time! 

Till next time, stay happy & fab! ❤️

24 comments

  1. Very kind of you. Hope more people learn to care for others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 Glad you liked the post.

      Like

  2. Great job. Your own donation will help someone and this post will inspire many others. Amazing how little things can bring smiles to people’s faces.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the idea behind this post! Your comment is such an encouragement 🙂 thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I didn’t notice you’ve featured your new hair-do in the gravatar dp too. Looks great. 👌

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha yes I did! Thank you 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I donated my hair when I was in 12th grade. It was such an awesome experience 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Shilpa ….great to know that! Yeah it’s such a satisfying feeling:)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You have done a good job…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Steve 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. In the movie Evan Almighty, the hero Steve Carell asks “How can we change the world?”, to which Morgan Freeman, who is playing the role of God, replies, “One act of random kindness at a time.” Many people inspired by the definition of ARK – act of random kindness, started ARK projects. This is what came into my mind when i read your post. With this post your joined in ARK, God’s project of charity… 👏👏👏With this comment I start following you not only in the blog but also in the ARK project…👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much …..this just made my day:) Yes let’s do our best in this world till we live in and leave some memorable footprints behind:)

      Like

  6. Good job😊 glad to meet human beings like you👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Vivek ….Its a pleasure to be connected with your blog that I yet to explore 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Take your time, I shall be eagerly waiting for your views on the same!!😊 Thanks!!👍 and congratulations in advance for 400 lovely people in your life( I am glad to be one among them😀)😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Vivek you’re one among my lovely fellow bloggers now, especially you’re the 400th one! So the first BIG thanks goes to you 🙂 Can’t wait to visit your blog …..!!! 😊👍🏼

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh!! That’s so sweet of you!! Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😊😊😊 Have a great weekend!

      Like

  9. uselessburger · · Reply

    You did a right thing :))
    Hats off to you and your eyes are so gorgeous it can overcome anything. And new haircut suits u i like it :))

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What an incredible thing to do. I bet the person who starts wearing your hair will be thrilled with it.

    That video was quite moving – and interesting, too. I didn’t realize how much work goes into making a wig.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I too had no idea about the whole process and much earlier, about the cause. But once I knew about this, i so wanted to do something for it. Your comment just made my day ❤️️

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I loved the Video, showing how to donate your hair for the Cancer patients. The wigs are so realistic. And the child is so happy to have her shiny hair back. Huge Morale Boost!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! Truly sometimes we cannot even imagine how our lil deeds can bring a whole lot of difference to someone’s life! Thanks for the lovely comment dear 🙂 ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

